St Mark's Church, Sheffield

Who we are

Modern Church, formerly The Modern Churchpeople's Union, is a membership organisation that promotes liberal Christian theology. It is a registered charity (number 281573) with trustees (marked * below) appointed by a Council elected at the Annual General Meeting (reports published PDF2011, PDF2010, PDF2009).

The Council

Revd Prof John Barton, Oriel and Laing Professor of the Interpretation of Holy Scripture at the University of Oxford.
Revd Prof Marilyn McCord Adams, Distinguished Research Professor of Philosophy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Revd Prof Paul Badham, Emeritus Professor of Theology and Religious Studies at the University of Wales, Trinity Saint David (Lampeter Campus)
Prof Elaine Graham, Grosvenor Research Professor of Practical Theology at the University of Chester
Revd Dr Nicholas Henderson
Dr Peter Mills
Most Revd Barry Morgan, Archbishop of Wales
Rt Revd John Saxbee
Rt Revd Brian Smith
Rt Revd Tim Stevens, Bishop of Leicester
Revd Canon Richard Truss
Rt Revd Martin Wharton, Bishop of Newcastle
Other members
Jean Barnett
Pat Boyd
*Revd Jonathan Clatworthy, General Secretary
Dr Susannah Cornwall
Revd Canon David Driscoll
Revd John Goldsmith
*Richard Hall, Treasurer
Revd Dr Chris Halliday
Tim Laundon
Franklin Lee
Revd Dr Jan van der Lely, Conference bookings
Patrick Lewin
*Suzanne Long
*Rosalind Lund, Vice-chair
Dave Marshall, Membership and website
Revd Jean Mayland
*Revd Clare Nicholson
Revd Canon Trevor Pitt
*Revd John Plant, Chair
Revd Dr Alan Race
*Mary Roe
*Revd Tim Stead
David Storey
Prof Adrian Thatcher, Editor of Modern Believing
*Anthony Woollard, Editor of Signs of the Times
Hilary Topp (SCM)